Honduras Table of Contents

The authors would like to acknowledge the contributions of Mary W. Helms, Richard L. Millet, James A. Morris, Steve C. Ropp, and J. Mark Ruhl, who wrote the 1983 edition of Honduras: A Country Study. The present volume incorporates portions of their work.

The authors are grateful to individuals in various government agencies and private institutions who gave of their time, research materials, and expertise in the production of this book. These individuals include Ralph K. Benesch, who oversees the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program for the Department of the Army. None of these individuals is, however, in any way responsible for the work of the authors.

The authors also would like to thank those people on the staff of the Federal Research Division who contributed directly to the preparation of the manuscript. They include Sandra W. Meditz, who reviewed drafts, provided valuable advice on all aspects of production, and conducted liaison with the sponsoring agency; Marilyn L. Majeska, who managed editing and production; Andrea T. Merrill, who edited figures and tables; and Barbara Edgerton and Izella Watson, who did word processing. In addition, thanks go to Mary K. Caruthers, who edited chapters; Beverly Wolpert, who performed the final prepublication editorial review; Joan C. Cook, who compiled the index; and Linda Peterson of the Library of Congress Printing and Processing Section, who performed the phototypesetting, under the supervision of Peggy Pixley.

Thanks also go to David P. Cabitto of the Federal Research Division, who provided valuable graphics support and who, along with the firm of Greenhorne and O'Mara, prepared the maps. Special thanks go to Gustavo Arce, who designed the cover and illustrations of each title page, and to Harriett R. Blood, who prepared the topographic map. Finally, the authors acknowledge the generosity of the individuals and the public and private agencies who allowed their photographs to be used in this study.

Custom Search

Source: U.S. Library of Congress