Lebanon Table of Contents

The Constitution and National Pact together form the framework of Lebanon's parliamentary democracy. The Constitution provides for three branches of government: an executive, a legislature, and an independent judiciary. The president of the republic, who appoints the prime minister, is elected by the Chamber of Deputies, the legislative body. Although this system resembles that of a Western democracy, because of the National Pact and its legitimization in the Constitution, the president, ministers, and deputies act as members of their respective confessional communities and not as atlarge representatives.

The Constitution
The National Pact
Zuama Clientelism
The President
The Prime Minister and the Cabinet
The Legislature
The Judiciary
The Bureaucracy

More about the Government of Lebanon.

Custom Search

Source: U.S. Library of Congress